SWOSU trustees convene for Fall 2020 session


The Board of Trustees of the Southwestern Oklahoma State University (SWOSU) Foundation, Inc., recently convened for a regularly scheduled business meeting

Due to ongoing restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic, the meeting was conducted entirely via the Zoom platform and facilitated by the SWOSU Center for Excellence in Teaching & Learning (CETL).

The trustees heard briefings from SWOSU President Dr. Randy L. Beutler and SWOSU Foundation, Inc. Executive Director Garrett King.

Departing Trustee Homer Ryan, of Frederick, SWOSU Class of 1963, was commended and thanked for his 27 years of service. Since acceding to the Board in April 1993, Ryan has served as chair of the Scholarships & Grants Committee and was named the 33rd member of the SWOSU Presidential Order of Merit in 2018.

The trustees reviewed committee reports and tracking data. They also considered and adopted the proposed Fiscal Year 2021 budget & multiannual financial framework and considered and adopted the FY 2019 external audit report.

“Thanks to our unbelievably generous network of alumni, emeriti and friends, SWOSU’s philanthropic revenues, contributions and commitments in 2020 are tracking 25 percent above 2019’s entire valuation,” King said. “The Foundation is very proud to support SWOSU’s students during this time of historic challenge and unusual circumstances by increasing our scholarship payments 19 percent above 2019 levels.”

The foundation’s leaders include: chair — George Cohlmia, Oklahoma City, SWOSU Class of 1974; 1st vice-chair/chair-designate — Bryan Evans, Edmond, SWOSU Class of 1998, also chair of the Corporate Governance and Nominating Committee; 2nd vice-chair — Brice Harris, Fair Oaks, California, SWOSU Class of 1970, also chair of the Scholarships & Grants Committee; secretary — Philip Busey, Jr., Oklahoma City, SWOSU Class of 2004, also chair of the Development Committee; treasurer — Bruce Magill, Weatherford, SWOSU Class of 1970; past chair — Dianne Hunter, Edmond, SWOSU Classes of 1986 and 1990; chair of the Investment Committee — Michael Hart, Edmond, SWOSU Class of 2006; chair of the Audit Committee — Judy Wilkes, Oklahoma City, SWOSU Class of 1976; chair of the Finance Committee — James Keehn, Edmond, SWOSU Class of 1996; and chair of the Property Committee — Debbie Shepherd, Weatherford, SWOSU Class of 1979.

Additional seated trustees of the foundation include:

• E. Vann Greer Andrews, Oklahoma City, SWOSU Class of 1960

• Lori Baker Boyd, Yukon, SWOSU Class of 1997

• Jeff DeFehr, Weatherford, SWOSU Class of 1990

• David Ferrell, Amber, SWOSU Class of 1995

• Juan Garcia, Clinton, SWOSU Class of 2002

• Lori Harper, Gulfport, Mississippi, SWOSU Class of 1993

• Mark Russell, Elk City, SWOSU Class of 1986

• Nelson Sims, Key Largo, Florida, SWOSU Class of 1971

• Cammi Valdez, Tahlequah, SWOSU Class of 2008